20th Century Crises

Pacing: 6 weeks

Esential Question:

What factors create crises in various regions of the world?
How are societies affected by crises and how do they respond?
stop_genocide350.jpg

Instructional Focus:

conflict
genocide
ethnic cleansing
causes of conflict and genocide: religious differences, ethnic differences, power struggles, minority vs. majority groups, regional conflict
Examples of genocide:
Armenia
Cambodia
Rwanda
Balkan States
Darfur
Examples of conflict:
Arab-Israeli
South Africa
India-Pakistani

Research: history, causes of the crisis, response to crises and effects of crisis and viewpoints on the crisis

Learning Objectives:

1. Identify and analyze specific factors which can cause crises and instability
2. Distinguish between the concepts of genocide and conflict
3. Analyze and critique various examples of genocide (Armenia, Cambodia, Rwanda, Serbian, Darfur)
4. Analyze and critique various examples of conflict (Arab-Israeli, Nicaragua, South Africa)
5. Describe, evaluate, and/or weigh how various members of a society have been affected by a crisis/genocide
6. Assess and interpret how members of the global community respond to a global crisis

Common Assessments:

District Benchmark Assessment Term 5

Students research an example of genocide or conflict and create an authentic assessment to teach the class (i.e. menu of project options for students)

Lesson Ideas:

Unit Plan for Crises Unit and Synthesis Project





Video Clip: Scream Bloody Murder - CNN Documentary (many parts)
http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=Scream+bloody+murder&aq=f

Video Clip: Armenia Genocide - 60 Minutes (10 minutes)
http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=60+minutes+Armenia&aq=f

Web Resources:


1. 24 Hours for Darfur http://www.24hoursfordarfur.org/main.php

2. Cambodian Genocide Program (Yale University) http://www.yale.edu/cgp/

3. Center for World Indigenous Studies http://www.cwis.org/index.php

4. Genocide Intervention Network http://www.genocideintervention.net/index.php
Downloadable background information on genocides around the world.

5. Human Rights Watch http://www.hrw.org/
You can read the 2009 Human Rights Watch Report or click on a world map to see the report based on individual countries.

6. United Nations Human Rights http://www.un.org/rights/
Printable versions of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights

7. Amnesty USA www.amnestyusa.org
Selectectable "issues" list that provides great background information on the issue.

8. Amnesty International www.amnesty.org

9. Leave None to Tell the Story: Genocide in Rwanda http://www.hrw.org/legacy/reports/1999/rwanda/

10. Facing History and Ourselves http://www.facinghistory.org/home

11. National Museum of the American Indian http://www.nmai.si.edu/

12. Prevent Genocide International http://www.preventgenocide.org/
Provides background information on a variety of genocides throughout the world.

13. The Genocide Education Project http://www.genocideeducation.org/

14. Teach Genocide www.teachgenocide.co

15. Learn Genocide www.learngenocide.com

16. The Holocaust History Project http://www.holocaust-history.org/

17. Genocide Documentation Centre http://www.ess.uwe.ac.uk/genocide.htm
Background information and primary source materials related to genocides around the world.

18. Shoah Foundation www.usc.edu/vhi
Video clips of survivor testimonies including teacher resources and lesson plans

19. Midwest Center for Holocaust Education www.mchekc.org

20. Justice Learning www.justicelearning.or

21. The History of Social Justice www.sojust.net

22. Race Bridges www.racebridgesforschools.com/index.html

23. Museum of Tolerance www.museumoftolerance.com

24. Genocide Watch www.genocidewatch.org

25. The Legacy Project
**http://www.legacy-project.org/**

26. Living Histories
**http://college.usc.edu/vhi/education/livinghistories/**

27. Decision Making in Times of Injustice
**http://www.facinghistory.org/sites/facinghistory.org/files/images/ng_Injustice_Lesson_Plans_with_cisneros_link.pdf**